Motorcycle licence categories explained

The following table describes the various motorcycle licence categories and the minimum age requirements.  Please note that there are specific vehicle requirements for taking the practical motorcycle driving test.

Licence Category Description of Licence Minimum Age





Motorcycles with an engine capacity not exceeding 125 cubic centimetres, with a power rating not exceeding 11kW and with a power to weight ratio not exceeding 0.1 kW/kg. Motor tricycles with a power rating not exceeding 15 kW.



Motorcycles with a power rating not exceeding 35 kW, with a power to weight ratio not exceeding 0.2 kW/kg and not derived from a vehicle of more than double its power.




Motor tricycles

24yrs or 20yrs with Progressive Access (see Motorcycle IBT  for details). Persons under 21 years of age are not eligible to ride a motor tricycle.

You can access the various motorcycle categories by ‘direct access’ or ‘progressive access’.

Direct Access

Direct access is where you have not previously held a full motorcycle licence in a lower category.

Progressive Access

Progressive access applies to categories A2 and A.  This means that you may be entitled to complete a course of training in order to obtain the higher motorcycle category full licence.  For example, if you are 18 years of age and you have held a full Category A1 licence for 2 years, you can complete a training course (or progression module) of Initial Basic Training on an A2 motorcycle, and upon satisfactory completion of the training, you can get your full Category A2 licence.

For more information on accessing a higher category motorcycle licence please refer to our Motorcycle Chart (PDF).