Leading Lights Awards

2018 Winners


Castletown Girls School who tackled the use of mobile phones by their parents in cars, were awarded the Gertie Shield’s Supreme Award.

The winner in each category is put forward for the Supreme Award and the overall winner is presented with this award. 

This year, ‘Leading Lights in Road Safety Awards’ were presented in the following categories:

  • Road Safety Ambassador - Barry Murphy
  • Education (Pre-Primary) - First Steps Preschool
  • Education (Primary) - Castletown Girls National School
  • Education (Secondary) - Joan Doherty
  • Education (Third Level) - College Awareness of Road Safety (CARS) Project - Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Education (Community) - Bikers Shed
  • Education (Special) - National Learning Network & RehabCare, Bray
    Road Safety Officer - Caroline Casey
  • Business Award - Road Safety Ireland
  • Emergency Services - Sergeant Dermot O’Connell
  • Public Sector - Michael Burke, Inland Fisheries Ireland
  • Future Award - CycleSafe 2000
  • Local Media - Shannonside FM newsroom
  • Special Recognition - Maurice McCabe
  • Approved Driving Instructor: Car - Ronan Bradley
  • Approved Driving Instructor: Bus - Martin Mc Loughlin
  • Approved Driving Instructor: Truck - Phelim Mc Quaid
  • Approved Driving Instructor: Motorcycle - Anthony Moore
  • CPC Training Organisation of the Year - Safety Alliance & Training Ltd 
  • CPC Trainer of the Year - James J Keogh