Skip to Content

Shining a Spotlight on Road Safety Heroes: Road Safety Authority calls for nominations for ‘Leading Lights in Road Safety’ Awards 2023

leading lights 22.09.2023

The Road Safety Authority (RSA) is today calling for nominations in the annual ‘Leading Lights in Road Safety’ awards. The RSA is asking communities all over Ireland to nominate a ‘Leading Light’ in road safety.

Now in its fourteenth year, the awards recognise the contributions made by groups or individuals who campaign, educate and are committed to improving road safety in their community. 

The RSA appreciates that achieving its ambition of Vision Zero, that is zero deaths and zero serious injuries on our roads by 2050, requires collaboration from organisations, government agencies, communities, and individuals. Through the ‘Leading Lights in Road Safety’ awards, the RSA want to honour the significant contribution made by people and organisations nationwide in reducing deaths and serious injuries on Irish roads.

Announcing the call for entries, Ms Liz O’Donnell, Chairperson of the RSA, said: “In my role as Chairperson of the Road Safety Authority, I have the honour of meeting people in communities across Ireland working to make our roads safer for all road users. Many of these contributions have made a serious impact but go without the recognition they deserve. I am therefore delighted to announce the return of the Leading Lights awards for the fourteenth year. The awards recognise these extraordinary contributions and the volunteers, teachers, students, businesses, journalists and community groups driving them. If you know someone who has made an extraordinary effort to promote road safety, I would encourage you to nominate them for this year’s ‘Leading Lights in Road Safety’ Awards so that we can honour the great work that they do”.

Sam Waide, CEO of the RSA, commented: “The Leading Light in Road Safety awards are more than just an accolade; they represent a heartfelt appreciation for those who dedicate their time, energy, and expertise to enhance road safety. Collaboration is a central component of the Government’s Road Safety Strategy, which aims to reduce the number of deaths and serious injuries on Irish roads by 50% over the next 10 years. Without the community champions promoting road safety amongst their peers, colleagues, neighbours and friends, this ambition would not be possible. I look forward to meeting and congratulating this year’s Leading Lights and sharing their best practice examples with other organisations in the future.”

Entries will be accepted in each of the following categories:

  • Road Safety Champion of the Year
  • Gertie Shields Supreme Award
  • Education - Pre-primary, Primary, Secondary, Special, Third Level/Further and Community Education
  • Public Sector
  • Emergency Services
  • Gay Byrne Media Award
  • Business
  • Future Award
  • Sustainable Travel
  • Approved Driving Instructor (ADI) of the Year
  • CPC Trainer/Training Organisation of the Year

The winners in each of these categories will be in with a chance of becoming the winner of the Gertie Shields Supreme Award for 2023. The award is dedicated to Gertie Shields, an inspirational road safety activist who sadly passed away in 2015 and who won the Supreme Award in 2013.

Nominations are now open and more information on how to enter your nomination in the ‘Leading Lights in Road Safety’ Awards is available here. The closing date for entries is 13 October 2023.

Nominations can be submitted online at and anyone submitting a nomination is encouraged to include relevant background information, such as photos, videos or other supporting documents to enhance their application. The entries will be judged by an expert and independent judging panel.

The winners of each category will be announced at the awards ceremony in the RDS in December.

Further details on the Leading Lights Awards can be found here.